Monday, November 20, 2017

LSGTPA 2017 Champions Crowned

The Lone Star Garden Tractor Pullers Association 2017 season has concluded, with the champions crowned in each of ten classes of competiton.  The ten event season featured two double header contests, and included eight cities on the 2017 LSGTPA tour.

The LSGTPA Youth Class title would be awarded to Jacob Hovind and the Mean Green Pulling Team from Princeton, Texas.  The team would utilize several drivers, to post four wins on the season, scoring the championship crown aboard the 'Yes Deere' machine.

The LSGTPA Stock Class title would be earned by Claude Lewis of Ravenna, Texas.  Claude would post a five win season effort, aboard his 'Old Yeller' tractor.  The Cub Cadet 126 tractor features a Kohler engine, spinning Carlisle Super Lug tires. 

The 2017 LSGTPA Hot Stock Class champion crown would be earned by Madison Pellerin, aboard her 'Instigator' machine.  Madison would post a dominating seven win season during the 2017 series, to score the championship crown in her first full season of competition.

The Stock Diesel Class 2017 Championship title would be taken by Patrick Bramlett and the PB&J Pulling Team.  Bramlett would use a six win season to take the class title, aboard his award winning 'Warthog' machine.  The Cub Cadet 782D tractor features a military theme, utilizing features and images reflecting the Fairchild Republic A-10 Thunderbolt aircraft, used by the US Airforce.

The LSGTPA Big Stock Class title would belong to Jerry Toland, and his 'Triple Deuce' number 222 machine.  Toland would post five wins during the season, to take the top spot in the field.  Jerry fields two tractors in competition from Bryan, Texas, and would double up in 2017 with two championship titles.

The high winding Stock Altered Class championship title would belong to Michael Mayberry of Sequin, Texas in 2017.   Mayberry would score two wins enroute to his class title, aboard his 'Pulling For Peanuts' machine.  The twin cylinder, alcohol burning machine features a Cub Cadet chassis and drive train.  

The LSGTPA Super Stock Class title for 2017, would belong to Ralph Lauffer of Fort Collins, Colorado.  Lauffer competes within several pulling organizations across multiple states, and would use a three win season to score his first Texas class title.

The 2017 LSGTPA Outlaw Class Championship crown would be worn by Paul Smith, of Morgans Point Resort, Texas.  Smith would wheel his crowd favorite, 'Texan', to a seven win season to earn the class title.  The award winning 'Texan' tractor, features a high winding Suzuki GSXR for power.

The LSGTPA Mini Rod Class Championship title would belong to Jerry Toland, who would double up in 2017 with two class championships.  Toland would pilot his popular 'Shinin Time' tractor to the win in Mini Rod Class, using five wins and two runnerup finishes in ten events, to secure the crown.  The alcohol fueled tractor is powered by a 2.3 Ford four cylinder, and features a vintage Hilborn fuel injection system.

The LSGTPA Super Rod Class title would be taken by Ken Langham, Sr. of Bonham, Texas.  Langham and his Longhorn Express Pulling Team field multiple tractors, and would pilot his 'Psycho' machine into the top spot in the Super Rod Class.  The Bonham Service Center backed team would use Chevrolet power to take the top spot in the class.

During the 2017 LSGTPA awards program, the club would honor the Armed Forces Veterans of the pulling teams.  Veterans in attendance included Richard Duncan, Claude Lewis, John Kiemele, John Aufdenkamp, Jerry Toland, Ken Langham Sr, and Patrick Bramlett.